Headed toward the South Pacific

It’s been a while. A long while. I’ve been on a huge adventure over these last few months – sailing around the islands of the South Pacific – and I haven’t been able to find an connection strong enough to support shoving a lot of photos onto the internet for everyone to see. It’s been an incredible experience and I’ve done some really amazing things, which I’m hoping to get across in a few pictures without sounding gloaty.

Very early on in the trip, as we were making the crossing from New Zealand to the Cook Islands, I decided to revisit monochrome photography. I really enjoyed looking for textures interesting enough to speak for themselves in the absense of colour, and I thought my surroundings – a yacht in the middle of an 1800-mile passage – could produce something really interesting. It was a very short-lived exercise, but one that I feel was quite effective in parts.

Once again, please feel free to comment. This is a hugely amateur effort, and I’d love to hear what people have to say.

-Ollie

One thought on “Headed toward the South Pacific”

Leave a comment